The Lizard Chronicles

Some of this is true. Some of this is better. –Too Much Joy

Forty-two Awesome (or at Least Notable) Things I Did While I Was Forty-Two October 24, 2017

Filed under: Life tales,lists — lizardesque @ 9:20 am
Tags: ,

Today my age is tweedle and twee. I’m prettier than I used to be.

-–Woody Guthrie

  1. Was unbreakable! (at least for Halloween)
    Unbreakable
  2. Cheered, jumped up and down, and hugged total strangers when the Cubs won the World Series for the first time since 1908…

    CubsWin

    Holy cow!

  3. …and then drank 30-something year-old whiskey (saved especially for the occasion) from a ceramic cub

    Cub

    I’m not a whiskey person, but I took one for the team

  4. Finished NaNoWriMo for the fourth time
  5. Finished knitting my first afghan

    Dec11

    Stewart approves of my knitting

  6. Saw the Terracotta Warriors exhibit at the Field Museum
  7. Waffled many things
     

  8. Marched for women
    March
  9. Contacted my elected officials more than I ever have before
  10. Successfully escaped another room with some friends

    Escape

    The escapees

  11. Went to a murder mystery party (my fourth one) and (for the first time) was not the murderer
  12. Adopted Daisy

    CozyDaisy

    Daisy also approves

  13. Knitted a cat

    LifeImArt

    Life imitates art

  14. Made a ceramic narwhal

    Narwhal

    They’re the unicorns of the sea, you know

  15. Made robots

    IMG_5113

    Robot date night

  16. Knitted a bunny
    Bun
  17. Took a knife-throwing class
  18. Won the family Peeps diorama contest

    IMG_5469

    Power to the Peeps!

  19. Marched for science

    IMG_5616

    Science is real!

  20. Became aunt to a furry niece

    Cleo

    Miss Cleo

  21. Brushed up on my Spanish

    IMG_5952

    Neigh

  22. Had a drink that contained Pop Rocks

    IMG_6256

    Candy Crush

  23. Visited La Sagrada Familia

    LSF

    La Sagrada Familia

  24. Visited Montserrat
  25. Visited Sitges
  26. Visited Park Güell

    Gingerbread

    Park Güell

  27. Purchased a suitcase to bring home wine and shoes from Barcelona
  28. Added another European Ferris wheel to my collection

    Ferris

    Giradabo

  29. Took a selfie with Jesus
    SelfiewithJesus
  30. Had some fun in a hall of mirrors

    MIrrors

    Trippy

  31. Ate at NoMi

    IMG_6552

    The view from NoMi

  32. Went to a baseball game with my brother for the first time

    IMG_6570

    Now if I could just convince him that there are not 27 outfielders on the field at once

  33. Waffled more things (yes, I’m counting this twice–I waffled a lot of things!)
     

  34. Got an honorable mention in the Glimmer Train Very Short Fiction Contest
  35. Finished another year of Julaiku
  36. Explored weird Chicago
  37. Participated in much silliness

    Photobooth

    Wedding photo booth fun

  38. Saw the total solar eclipse from within the path of totality

    Eclipse

    It was freakin’ amazing!

  39. Saw Hamlet in the park
  40. Shot a gun for the first time (It was target shooting, and I’m hesitant to call this awesome since, deep down, I’m still a gun-hating liberal. However, it did seem like a notable experience.)
  41. Started…and eventually finished knitting a shawl
    Shawl
  42. Expanded my vocabulary
 

Leave a Reply

