The Lizard Chronicles

Some of this is true. Some of this is better. –Too Much Joy

The Draper Caper (TIPSHRMETID) May 8, 2015

Filed under: culture,Life tales — lizardesque @ 10:28 am
Tags: , , ,

It’s time for another edition of Things I Probably Should Have Realized Much Earlier Than I Did, or TIPSHRMETID for lovers of long, difficult-to-pronounce acronyms.

As some of you may know if you have read previous posts, I began watching Mad Men pretty late in the game. After finally getting Netflix streaming, I started with season 1 last summer and gradually worked my way through the series, finishing up season 6 late this winter. I knew there was only one season left. With Netflix and the like, I can hardly be bothered to pay attention to real-time television schedules, so I just figured I’d see the last season when I saw it. Netflix would let me know when new episodes became available. Sure, I’d be behind the rest of the world in that respect, but that’s really nothing new.

Before long, I started hearing buzz about the final seven episodes and hype about the series finale, which was to air on May 17. Imagine my surprise when, around that time, Netflix informed me that Mad Men season 7 was available for viewing! It did strike me as extremely odd that these episodes were being made available before they even aired on regular TV, but I didn’t think too much about it. I’m not one to look a gift horse in the mouth, and heck, for once, I might be ahead of the Mad Men curve. So, I watched those final seven episodes and puzzled over the quirky, anticlimactic end, where SC&P is poised to become a subsidiary of McCann and Don Draper hallucinates the late Bert Cooper dancing and singing “The Best Things In Life Are Free.” Huh.

Meanwhile, I’m still hearing, and largely ignoring, buzz about the upcoming finale. I know not everyone in the world has Netflix streaming, but I was surprised there was still so much hubub about something that had been available on at least one platform for several weeks. Again, huh.

Then I started to catch stills and snippets of scenes from recently aired episodes. I blew it off at first, thinking, “I don’t remember that shot, but I might have been playing Candy Crush at the same time (multitasking, you know!), so that may be why I missed it.” I went about my life, half wondering if Netflix had made some weird error and I was the only one who knew about it. Whatever.

Then I saw a picture of Roger Sterling with a mustache. Huh?? No amount of electronic confection could have let that slip by me. Something was amiss.

About ten seconds and one Google search later, I learned that, in what seems to be a growing trend among non-big-three network programs, season 7 of Mad Men was split into two parts. I had simply watched the first seven episodes of the final season. The last seven were what everyone was still buzzing about.

*facepalm*

Don't you judge me!

Don’t you judge me!

Never mind me. I’ll just take my place in line behind the rest of the world. Ah well, now I have something to look forward to.

 

Leave a Reply

