The Lizard Chronicles

Some of this is true. Some of this is better. –Too Much Joy

38 Cool Things I Did While I Was 38 October 24, 2013

Filed under: Life tales,lists — lizardesque @ 8:16 am

Today my age is tweedle and twee. I’m prettier than I used to be.

– Woody Guthrie

  1. Tried Zumba
  2. Treated myself to a really nice watch that I’d been eying for years
  3. Wrapped up a year of putting things on my head
  4. Started a 365 Somethings to Smile About project
  5. Went on a long weekend girls’ trip to New York City
  6. Visited Central Park for the first time
  7. Visited Rockefeller Center
  8. Had real New York pizza in New York for the first time
  9. Ate streudel in Vienna and also decided that “streudeled” is a great euphemism for several things, as in “Damn, I’m streudeled.”
  10. Rode the Giant Ferris Wheel at the Prater in Vienna, thus adding to my collection of European Ferris wheels

    The latest in my collection of European Ferris Wheels

    The latest in my collection of European Ferris Wheels

  11. Saw St. Stephan’s Cathedral
  12. Visited Schmetterlinghaus

    I made a friend at Schmetterlinghaus!

    I made a friend at Schmetterlinghaus!

  13. Saw Schönbrunn Palace
  14. Hosted a halfway to Halloween party
  15. Made ceramic jewelry
  16. Tried playing a ukelele
  17. Got to the point where I can consistently hold crow pose for more than a couple seconds
  18. Had two pieces published in a single issue of the Journal of Ordinary Thought
  19. Ate at Spiaggia on my ninth wedding anniversary
  20. Got my picture taken with Elmo and a giant noodle (on separate occasions)
    Redheads unite!

    Redheads unite!

    Noodly goodness

    Noodly goodness

     

  21. Tried a balance core yoga class

    Yoga on an Indo Board

    Yoga on an Indo Board

  22. Made rhubarb-infused vodka

    Delicious and pretty!

    Delicious and pretty!

  23. Saw Billy Idol in concert
  24. Grilled the shit out of some lettuce
  25. Discovered the joys of halloumi cheese on the grill
  26. Roller-skated for the first time in many years

    I've got a brand new pair of rollerskates

    I’ve got a brand new pair of roller skates.

  27. Took yoga bootcamp classes
  28. Practiced meditation (semi-regularly anyway, I’m working on it)
  29. Laughed at myself, often

    One of the many reasons I laughed at myself--for a trip, I packed 2 black shoes, 2 nonmatching black shoes

    One of the many reasons I laughed at myself–for a trip, I packed 2 black shoes, 2 nonmatching black shoes.

  30. Reread Animal Farm (and was inspired by beer to do so)

    More Equal Farmhouse Ale

    More Equal Farmhouse Ale

  31. Was acknowledged twice in the New England Journal of Medicine
  32. Dropped by some friends’ house and ended up staying and playing cards until 3:00 am
  33. Saw the Impressionism and Fashion exhibit at the Art Institute
  34. Began a 5-year question and answer journal

    I have the answers!

    I have the answers!

  35. Spent a long weekend in Galena, IL, with some old friends (and a few new ones)
  36. Turned my house yellow (well, OK , the people who installed the new siding actually did this, but I chose the color, and now I have the yellow house I’ve long wanted)
  37. Took a trip with my bestie
  38. Stacked rocks at Leelanau State Park

    Leelanau State Park

    Leelanau State Park

 

Leave a Reply

