The Lizard Chronicles

Some of this is true. Some of this is better. –Too Much Joy

Verbiage on Vienna Part 5: Palaces, Butterflies, and Beer March 29, 2013

On Monday, my last day in Vienna, I had some morning conference sessions, and then I had the rest of the day to spend as I pleased. I met up with a colleague at Schmetterling Haus, the Imperial Butterfly House, which is part of Hoffburg Palace. I must say, when you walk through a door and are instantly greeted by numerous butterflies dancing in the air around you, it’s hard not to smile. In fact, my colleague and I both cried out in delight as we entered. Not surprisingly, it was hot and humid inside the butterfly house, so my camera kept fogging up until I had been in there a while. I eventually managed to get some nice pictures, though.

Butterfly on a rope

Butterfly on a rope

Butterfly amongst flowers

Butterfly amongst flowers

Prettiest bugs ever!

Prettiest bugs ever!

I made a friend!

I made a friend!

Once I finished ooohing, aaahing, and snapping pictures (and, frankly, needed to cool off), I walked around Burggarten for a while and enjoyed some of the few bits of sunshine I saw on the trip.

Neue Burg

Neue Burg

Statue of Mozart in Burggarten

Statue of Mozart in Burggarten

From there, I hopped on a train and headed out to Schönbrunn Palace. All around me on the grounds, staff were in the midst of preparations for spring. I imagine the garden are spectacular when everything is in bloom. Alas, there was not much growing in early March, but it was still well worth my time. Some day, perhaps I’ll go back and see the garden maze when it’s open and green.

Schönbrunn Palace

Schönbrunn Palace

I climbed the big hill on the palace grounds (earning the beer and cake I would later consume), up to the Gloriette. What a beautiful view of the city from the hilltop!

Gloriette at the top of the hill

Gloriette at the top of the hill

Colorful Vienna

Colorful Vienna

On my way back to the palace, I stopped by Stephansplatz again and finally got a picture of St. Stephen’s in the sun before it (the sun, that is, not the cathedral) ducked behind some clouds again.

Even prettier in the sunshine!

Even prettier in the sunshine!

On several occasions while I had been in Vienna, I had passed  an adorable ceramics shop, but each time, the store was closed. At long last, I went to the shop when it was open. As most people who have been to my house will tell you, buying ceramics should not be high on my list of things to do, since I take ceramics classes and have most of the horizontal space in my house taken up by my creations. I told myself I was visiting the shop merely for ideas. Of course, I couldn’t manage to leave without a couple small, easily packable trinkets, but mainly I got some ideas for and pictures of stuff I will probably never be able to recreate with the same skill. Ah, but a girl can dream, right?

Adorable ceramics at Berger

Adorable ceramics at Berger

I actually made a ceramic penguin a while back. I never thought to make him this colorful and put him in a top hat!

I actually made a ceramic penguin a while back. I never thought to make him this colorful and put him in a top hat!

For our final dinner together in Vienna, my colleagues and I went to Salm Bräu, the grounds of which have a long and storied history, having once been the site of a vineyard/wine cellar of the mayor of Vienna and a stable for the Empress’s coach horses. Plus, there was good food, friendly service, and great beer.

Cheers to Vienna!

Cheers to Vienna!

My flight the next morning left ridiculously early, meaning that I had to get up before I even went to bed (okay, not really, but I did get up at 3:30), only to find that the cold I had been fighting off all week had hit me with it’s full force. The state of my sinuses made flight rather unpleasant, but on the upside, I got to once again say hello to the moose at the Stockholm airport (no illicit photography this time). When I finally arrived home, I discovered that my checked bag apparently had such fun that it decided to stay in Europe a bit longer. Ah well, at least it happened on the way back instead of on the way there.

All in all, it was a good trip, but as they say, there’s no place like home.

 

2 Responses to “Verbiage on Vienna Part 5: Palaces, Butterflies, and Beer”

  1. Tina Says:

    I hope you bought the cat vase. Or I suppose you could make one. The penguin is adorable!

    • lizardesque Says:

      I wanted to buy the cat vase, but I didn’t have room for it in my suitcase, and I was worried about it getting broken in transit. I will attempt to make something like it in class, though!


Leave a Reply

