The Lizard Chronicles

Some of this is true. Some of this is better. –Too Much Joy

Verbiage on Vienna Part 4: Mindray Will Get You! March 23, 2013

View from my hotel room during the day

View from my hotel room during the day

Like the previous day, my Sunday in Vienna began with some early lectures. When I was finished with those, I wandered around the meeting exhibits to replenish my supply of pens and sticky notes, recaffienate myself, and oh yeah, maybe learn a few things too.

Is it just me, or does this sound somewhat sinister?

Is it just me, or does this sound somewhat sinister?

With a head full of knowledge, and a caffeinated spring in my step, I wandered about in search of more interesting things to photograph. I found Hochstrahlbrunnen Fountain (dry for the winter), which, I learned from a sign, was put into operation by Emperor Francis Joseph I on October 24 (my birthday!), 1873 (not my birth year!) in a celebration to open Vienna’s first springwater main.

Hochstrahlbrunnen Fountain

Hochstrahlbrunnen Fountain

I also added another church to my growing collection and enjoyed some signs of spring in Stadtpark.

The Church of St. Charles

The Church of St. Charles

Flowers have begun to appear!

Flowers have begun to appear!

I wandered around Stephansplatz for a while, and although the crowds were out, it was a Sunday, so nothing was open except for cafes and, of course, souvenir shops. I was beat from getting up quite early and walking around, so I headed back to the hotel to work and rest up for my last day.

View from my hotel room at night, albeit with some neck craning

View from my hotel room at night, albeit with some neck craning

 

Leave a Reply

