The Lizard Chronicles

Some of this is true. Some of this is better. –Too Much Joy

The Hipster Conundrum August 10, 2012

Filed under: Clothing,culture,lists — lizardesque @ 8:59 am
Tags:

On more than one occasion, I have been accused of being a hipster. Of course, I deny it. Anyone who self-identifies as a hipster probably is not a hipster. But I had been referred to as such often enough that I began to wonder. Am I a hipster? And if so, then what?

So, I decided to make a list of things about myself that are hipsteresque and things that are anti-hipsteresque. Lists always help clear up things like this.

Okay, maybe I look a bit hipsterish here.

Hipsteresque things

  1. I liked a lot of stuff before it was cool. I’ve actually been saying that I liked stuff before it was cool before that was really a thing.
  2. I have been known to buy from vintage stores and thrift shops.
  3. I’m decidedly pro-Apple
  4. I haven’t been without a pair of Chucks since I was 13.
  5. I have a fair amount of existential angst.
  6. I live in an urban setting, am educated, and read a lot.
  7. I do not self-identify as a hipster and eschew the label vehemently.
  8. I use phrases like “eschew the label vehemently.”
  9. I love irony and sarcasm.
  10. I have a lot of hoodies.
  11. I’m a vegetarian and have been for 23 years…you know, since before it was cool.
  12. I graduated from a liberal arts school with no football team.
  13. I could see myself living in Portland.

On the other hand, I don’t look at all hipsterish here

Anti-hipsteresque things

  1. I do not own skinny jeans. I tried them on by accident once and actually screamed.
  2. I have not purchased a vinyl record since the 80s.
  3. If you were to look in my closet, you’d have a hard time saying that I reject materialism.
  4. Although my style of dress is somewhat quirky, I do try to avoid wearing things that clash.
  5. I do not drink PBR.
  6. I use the word deck as a noun and a verb, never as an adjective.
  7. I have never been to Pitchfork.
  8. My bike is not a fixie.
  9. I might be too old to be a hipster. Some sources suggest that hipsters are in the 18-25 age range, whereas others suggest 20s through 30s. Does it matter if I look 10 or so years younger than I am?

Okay then! Clear as mud!

 

2 Responses to “The Hipster Conundrum”

  1. Christina Ott Says:

    And you got a tattoo before it was really in vogue. Does that qualify for either list?


Leave a Reply

