The Lizard Chronicles

Some of this is true. Some of this is better. –Too Much Joy

A Failure to Communicate June 13, 2012

Filed under: Life tales,Oddities — lizardesque @ 10:42 pm
Tags: , ,

If you have called me on my land line in the past 11 months, I may owe you an apology. I discovered today that there has been some sort of glitch with my voice mail. Now, I know I have retrieved voice mail messages between last July and today, but apparently some messages were not registering on the system. Plus, somewhere along the line, my phone stopped doing the blinking-thing when I have messages AND it stopped making the interrupted dial tone noise to alert me that I have messages when I pick the phone up.

What do you get when you combine all of these things? I’m not sure what you get, but I got 91 voice mail messages dating as far back as mid-July 2011! Considering all of these glitches, there may well be some messages I have not and will never get, so, if you’ve called me and I haven’t called you back, sorry! It was not intentional, merely voice mail fuckery.

I admit that, as I waded through the messages, I was not actually fastidious enough to keep track of how many calls were from whom, but this is my best estimate of the breakdown.

25 robo-calls from my credit card company, claiming that it is urgent that I contact them immediately about raising my credit limit

15 hang-ups

14 political robo-calls

7 surveys

7 calls regarding work-related matters

5 reminders for various appointments

5 calls from Am Vets, asking if I had any goods to donate

4 calls from various organizations I belong to, reminding me about upcoming events

3 fundraising calls from my alma mater

3 calls regarding something that causes asthma (the beginning of the recording was always cut off, so I really don’t know what it was about, and I didn’t bother to listen to the whole message)

2 calls from my mother on Thanksgiving, wondering where the heck I am

1 call from a friend

 

Hmm. I managed to survive all of this time not knowing about any of these until now!

 

 

Leave a Reply

