The Lizard Chronicles

Some of this is true. Some of this is better. –Too Much Joy

Unicorns, Puffins, and Gophers, Oh My! (or Strange Things Seen and Heard During My Trip to New Orleans So Far) April 23, 2012

Filed under: Animals,Life tales,Travel — lizardesque @ 10:05 pm
  • A large man dressed in all black running through the airport with a unicorn pillow pet under his arm. It’s not the right season for him to save Christmas, so perhaps perhaps he was retrieving the unicorn for his daughter who would otherwise scream for the entire flight without it.
  • This I did not actually witness, but when she arrived at our gate, one of my colleagues informed me that security had searched her hair. She said she was looking on the bright side and taking it as a compliment–her hair is so thick and luxurious that she could hide weapons in it! Hey, wait, why hasn’t my hair ever been searched?? Apparently, I need to step up my game.
  • A woman in the hallway of my hotel room repeatedly yelling, “Puffin!” I assume this must be someone’s nickname, but I couldn’t help but think, “Lost pet?”
  • Overheard: “I got an e-mail this morning saying ‘you have to do something about the gophers.'” She then proceeded to describe a product called the gophinator (gophernator?), which, alas I only heard bits and pieces of. I did catch this gem of a quote, though, “You have to be careful because if they get away and they’re on fire, they could start a forest fire.” Why am I picturing another Caddy Shack sequel?
 

Leave a Reply

