The Lizard Chronicles

Some of this is true. Some of this is better. –Too Much Joy

So Help Me, Flying Spaghetti Monster August 21, 2011

Filed under: Rants — lizardesque @ 4:07 pm
Tags: , , ,

I shouldn’t let stupid e-mail forwards piss me off, but sometimes I just can’t help it. I received this lovely piece of asininity today.

AGREE  OR  DELETE  
This is by a daughter of a murdered couple in Raytown , MO ,
She says:

When I had to testify at the murder trial of my  parents  a week ago, I was asked to raise my right hand…
The bailiff started out “Do you swear to tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth?”

I stood there and waited but she said nothing. She said “Do you?”

I was so stunned I blurted out “What happened to “so help me God’?”

She came back with “Do you?” I replied yes, but I was perplexed.

Then the judge said ….   “You can say that if you want to.”

I stopped, raised my right hand, and finished with “So help me God!”

I told my son and daughter that when  it came time for them to testify, they should do the same.

I don’t know what can be done about it, but it’s time for us to step up and DO something.

NBC this morning had a poll on this question.. They had the highest number of responses that they
have ever had for one of their polls, and the percentage was the same as this:

86%  to  keep  the words, 14% against. That is a pretty ‘commanding’ public response.

I was asked to  send this on if I agreed or  delete if I didn’t .

Now it is your turn.. It is said that 86% of Americans believe in God.  

Therefore, I have a very hard time understanding why there is such a  mess about having
“In God We Trust” on our money and having God in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Why is the world catering to this 14%?

If you agree, pass this  on, if not, simply delete….

In God We Trust
If You Choose To Delete
Perhaps Then You   Are Part Of The Problem  

Me? I’m Passing It On.  
It seems to get  worse daily.

You see, this e-mail and I got off on the wrong foot right away. Telling me what to do, agree or delete, makes it that much more likely that, if I don’t agree, I will not just delete, but I will hit “reply all” to say just what I think of this tripe and then blog about it later.

According to snopes.com, there is a mixture of truth and myth to the story underlying this e-mail, but to me, the truth or untruth of it is irrelevant. The fact that people keep forwarding it tells me that enough people believe in its message to perpetuate it. In short, the opinions of that 14% don’t matter. We should be forced to swear to a being we don’t believe in, use money that states we trust in something we don’t believe in, and swear a pledge that states we are under watch of a mythical being. Oh, but majority rules, right?

Let’s imagine of the numbers in this story were reversed, and 86% of people indicated that they did not believe in God. Would it be right to make the 14% who did swear in court that there is no God, use money that stated “God is a myth,” or swear a pledge to state that God does not exist? Hmmm, it seems a bit different when things are turned around, doesn’t it?

 

2 Responses to “So Help Me, Flying Spaghetti Monster”

  1. Donna Kiser Says:

    Inspiration for writing is a wonderful thing, isn’t it? :p
    dk


Leave a Reply

