The Lizard Chronicles

Some of this is true. Some of this is better. –Too Much Joy

Chalk it Up August 17, 2011

Filed under: Family,Life tales — lizardesque @ 4:28 pm
Tags: , ,

Arm wrestling on Thanksgiving

At some point, my family decided that most of our get-togethers must entail some sort of contest. We have a tradition of Easter competitions, which have included competing for best bonnet, jelly bean mosaic, bunny ears, and Peep creation. On occasions when no formal contest has been specified in advance, games of Chutes and Ladders and arm wrestling matches have been known to break out. It’s not that my family and I are what you would normally consider hyper-competitive people, but we do enjoy good-natured competition…and prizes…and bragging rights, of course.

This brings me to my parents’ summer party with chalk art competition, which has been an annual event for several years now. Whoever wishes to compete draws a chalk picture on the driveway.  rizes are awarded for first, second, and third place.

For many years, my cousin Melissa was the undisputed chalk art champion. During this time, which I like to refer to as the Reign of Terror, she crushed the competition with beautiful drawings of turtles, celestial scenes, and SpongeBob SquarePants. She was brazen (1). She was unstoppable. There were rumors of doping (2).

Tied for second place

Last year, in a grand upset, champion Melissa was, at long last, unseated by yours truly. There were whispers about unfair judging (3), but I felt my win was deserved, and I happily accepted my Major Award (4). This year, Melissa was obviously still distraught and shaking in her boots, knowing that I had stepped up my game and she had real competition. She was a no-show. Sure, she was on vacation, but wasn’t that convenient timing? That’s not to say that the competition wasn’t stiff. Several entrants had the mindset of, “Melissa’s not here, so I have a chance!”

Tied for second place

In the wake of last year’s judging controversy, it was decided that all party attendees would vote on their favorite entries. Without further ado, I present the winners! In second place were my in-laws with a frame drawn by my father-in-law and flowers (drawn on paper, but they were drawn with chalk) by my mother-in-law. My pseudo-aunt Patty tied for second place with another floral scene.

And first place? I once again reigned supreme, this year, with a charming (if I do say so myself) depiction of Simon’s Cat. I also took second place in the guess how many pennies in the bag contest, so I returned home with an embarrassment of prizes, including a candle holder, sticky notes, a journal, and a small storage container.

First prize!

Time to start planning for next year.

***********************************************************************************************

1. By this, I mean that she smiled and humbly accepted her prizes.

2. “Hey, you dope. Why do you always beat me?”

3. My husband  was among the judges.

4. A coffee mug.

 

Leave a Reply

