The Lizard Chronicles

Some of this is true. Some of this is better. –Too Much Joy

The Empty Half of the Glass August 6, 2011

Filed under: Life tales,Writing — lizardesque @ 3:22 pm
Tags: ,

As you may have noticed, I have been blogging more, and I’ve been having some fun with it. It also gives me a certain sense of accomplishment. After all, it means I’m writing something instead of playing Angry Birds or dispatching more of my money to modcloth.com. Of course, this is me we’re talking about, so it can’t be a completely positive thing. There must be downsides. If they are not readily apparent, give me some time, and I will find them!

Oh, look! There they are!

  • I sometimes become a little obsessed with checking the stats of my blog. I somehow expect that I’ll become a super famous internet sensation overnight, or, if I’m feeling exceptionally patient, within a week or so. Then I recall that my biggest day had 54 views, so I’m not quite a sensation yet. But maybe this next post will be the one that breaks things wide open for me. Am I famous yet?
    *waits*
    No?
    *kicks dirt* Damn, this takes forever.
  • The guilt machine inside my head starts churning. Sure, I’m writing by blogging, but it’s not the right kind of writing. It’s not important writing. It’s not the kind of writing that is going to make me a rich, famous, best-selling, well-respected author. But seeing that I have made all of TEN DOLLARS this year on writing that is not related to my “real job,” apparently, I wasn’t doing a lot of the right kind of writing before I started blogging, so I might as well blog and entertain myself and a few friends in the process, right?
    Guilt machine: No. You suck! Go work on your novel, and don’t talk to me again until you’re Margaret Atwood, or at least Stephenie Meyer.
 

One Response to “The Empty Half of the Glass”

  1. Donna Kiser Says:

    Oh yeah, I know THIS feeling.
    dk


Leave a Reply

