The Lizard Chronicles

Some of this is true. Some of this is better. –Too Much Joy

Songs that are worse than Friday by Rebecca Black March 28, 2011

Filed under: lists,Music — lizardesque @ 6:23 pm
Tags: , ,

Yes, “Friday” from Rebecca Black is annoying and inane, but, when I heard people say it’s the worst song ever, I thought, “No, not even close.” Let’s be honest, most 13-year-old have questionable taste in music, and it’s probably good that most of them have never been near a recording studio, That said, even in trying to ignore Miss Black’s age and listen to the song without prejudice as best I can to sort of level the playing field, I cannot conclude it is the worst song ever. In fact, several songs that are, in my humble opinion, much worse spring to mind quite quickly. I don’t claim that this list is comprehensive, by the way. I’m sure this just scratches the surface, but it’s what I have for now.

  • Tik Tok by Ke$ha: I’m inclined to avoid the music of anyone who spells her name with a dollar sign, but alas, this is not always possible. In this song, Ke$ha not only showcases a voice that makes nails on chalkboards sound like sweet, sweet lullabies, but she also demonstrates that she has no knowledge of what Mick Jagger actually looks like.
  • OMG by Usher: The only redeeming quality of this song is the amusement it brings when one considers that it may have been ripped off from Homer Simpson.
  • All the Young Dudes by Mott the Hoople: I know I’ll get some disagreement on this, but to each his own. I cannot turn the radio off fast enough when this song comes on. It makes me want to shove metal spikes into my ears.
  • Achy Breaky Heart by Billy Ray Cyrus: Do I really need to elaborate? Didn’t think so.
  • Ebony and Ivory by Stevie Wonder and Paul McCartney: I’m not sure how this even happens–take two music legends, add a positive message, and get…one hell of a crappy song. I much prefer the Eddie Murphy/Joe Piscopo version.
 

Leave a Reply

